Hello and welcome to Crewe and Nantwich Labour Party. We are a local branch of the Labour Party that organises and campaigns within the UK Parliamentary Constituency of Crewe and Nantwich which includes Crewe, Nantwich, Haslington, Shavington, Wistaston, Willaston, part of Leighton, Wybunbury and other small villages.

Part of what we do is campaign to promote our Manifesto of “For The Many, Not The Few”. We do this by involving ourselves in the same communities we live and work in. We make ourselves visible in town centres and neighbourhoods, our members attend and promote activity with local groups that do litter picks, run homeless shelters etc. and we also go to people’s doorsteps and listen to their concerns, to find out what people want from Government and the local council.

If you are already a member and want to be more involved in our campaigning, contact the address on your membership card or go to your My Labour account where you can also find a contact. If you would like to join then it’s a simple online form, just go to https://join.labour.org.uk/, there is even a discounted rate for certain circumstances.

You are represented by the Labour Party in public office within Crewe and Nantwich by:

Cheshire East Borough Council
Labour holds 25 of the 82 seats on Cheshire East Borough Council. Second to the Tories 34. The Council is under “No Overall Control” as no party has more than half the seats. On May 22nd 2019 at the first Council meeting after the elections, Cllr Sam Corcoran (Sandbach Heath and East) was elected Leader of Cheshire East Council to become the first Labour leader of the Council since its formation in 2009. This was made possible by support from a large section of Independent councillors who, with The Labour Group, agreed to form a “transitional” Cabinet until May 2020 (the next Annual General Meeting) when the Council will move to a system of committees that govern instead of a single Cabinet run by 10 councillors. You can read about the build up to the elections and the fall out for the Tories over their results – What’s Happened at Cheshire East Borough Council?.

The representation of the Council is made up of seats within a ward (which are boundaries that represent a small-ish geographical area, smaller than a Parliamentary Constituency, of a few thousand electors. Rural wards tend to be larger as electors are spread out) and elect between 1 and 3 councillors to them depending on the ward size and population density. In the Crewe and Nantwich wards, Labour represents you with the following councillors:

  • Cllr Anthony Critchley – Crewe Central
  • Cllr Joy Bratherton – Crewe East
  • Cllr Suzanne Brookfield – Crewe East
  • Cllr Hazel Faddes – Crewe East
  • Cllr Jill Rhodes – Crewe North
  • Cllr Steven Hogben – Crewe South
  • Cllr Laura Smith – Crewe South
  • Cllr Sally Handley – Crewe St Barnabas
  • Cllr Marilyn Houston – Crewe West
  • Cllr Brian Roberts – Crewe West

You can find all councillor profiles and contact information at https://moderngov.cheshireeast.gov.uk/ecminutes/mgMemberIndex.aspx?bcr=1

Crewe West by-election – due May 2021*

With the sad passing of the much admired Crewe West Cllr Brian Roberts in early 2020, it created a vacancy for that seat. The election for this was supposed to happen in May 2020 but was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It is now due to happen in May 2021 but this is still uncertain. Nonetheless, Crewe and Nantwich Labour Party has chosen it’s candidate to contest this seat and it chose Crewe resident and party activist Connor Naismith. Connor has vowed “Not just words – Actions” for the Crewe West ward and has been very active already sorting reportable problems and finding out what makes the residents tick. If you wish to contact Connor about issues in the ward or find out more about what he stands for you can contact him and his campaign at [email protected] or you find him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/connorforcrewewestlabour where has chronicled.

Connor has been running his physical campaign in accordance with Government rules to keep himself and residents safe – please consider registering for a postal vote to ensure you can vote safely too, please visit https://postalvote.labour.org.uk/ for how to sign up to do this with the local authority.

* date could still change.

Crewe Town Council
Crewe Town Council was formed in 2013 after a referendum was won to create a Council that could be more focused on Crewe. It currently provides grants to worthwhile organisations and organises events in the town like trAction, The Steampunk Convival and a number of food festivals. Labour currently controls this council holding all 20 of the 20 available seats. We have a page that provides some information about the council and a full list of councillors and contact details can be found at https://www.crewetowncouncil.gov.uk/members/